Baking Bad: Recreating the Technical Challenges from the Great British Bake Off – Week 2: Viennese Whirls

The second technical challenge from this season of the Great British Bake Off is Viennese Whirls. Now, it shocked me that these came up as the technical for biscuit week, since I’ve always considered Viennese Whirls to be a cake rather than a biscuit. Oh how wrong I was!

Viennese Whirls are a British confection consisting of a soft butter biscuit piped into a whirl shape, said to be inspired by Austrian pastries, though entirely unrelated. They are made up of 2 biscuits with jam and butter-cream sandwiched between them.

Making jam is the first thing on the list for this technical recipe, however I have no time for that so I started MY technical challenge by adding some pizazz to store bought jam. Ah well, can’t have it all and my argument is that making jam isn’t baking. With that done, it’s on with the biscuits…

After mixing it all together, you’re guided to draw around a 2 inch biscuit cutter. I had no idea what this was and sure as hell wasn’t going to measure it but it worked out well in the end. Following a quick chill in the fridge the next challenge was trying to get the biscuit dough into the piping bag. With the completion of that wrestle it then became a challenge to pipe swirls of the mixture into the circles ran on the grease-proof paper.

This is when things got tricky.

IF you didn’t watch this episode of GBBO you might not know that Viennese Whirl dough is remarkably stiff and does not like coming out of piping bags. After a few attempts to do perfect swirls I resigned myself to the fact that I would settle for mediocre as piping is one area of baking that my skill set is lacking. I’m just awful at it!

Once all 24 rounds had been piped it was back off in the fridge to pull a Mr Freeze and “Chill Out!” before being popped in the oven to bake!  During baking, the swirls lost some definition sadly and the result was a bit of a sad looking Viennese Whirl, but I still think they looked better than some of the contestants in the tent!  Plus, they tasted delicious too – a fact even my work friends who helped me eat them will attest to!

IMG_20160901_141059

This week I’d score myself a 6/10 for presentation and a 9/10 for taste. But we all know the only opinion that matters is Mary’s so I think this time I’d receive a “Slightly happy Mary Berry”.

mary-berry-abcs-the-great-holiday-baking-show

Until Next time…

 

One thought on “Baking Bad: Recreating the Technical Challenges from the Great British Bake Off – Week 2: Viennese Whirls

Leave a Reply

