Recipe: Skinny Lemon And Blueberry Cake

20130116-105525.jpg

It’s time I told you a big secret about me. I am a huge fan of cooking shows. What? You already figured that out? Oh…

Yes, it’s true I’m a massive fan of any television programme involving food! Current favourites include the Jamie Oliver “Double the time it takes me to make these meals” series and recently, The Hairy Dieters. What intrigued me most about the the Hairy Bikers new show was that they attempted to keep eating the same foods that they loved whilst trying to lose weight and get healthier. This ranged from the creation of a slimline pie and a waistline friendly quiche to one of my personal favourites: Skinny Lemon Cupcakes.

In case you’re new to this blog, I’m an avid baker and I especially love baking cakes (don’t get me started on buttercream icing though, I have a long running vendetta against that foul creation). With my love for cake, but also my love for exercise, this seemed like the perfect recipe to try especially due to everybody having New Years resolutions to eat healthier or lose weight! sadly due to the fact that I left my cupcake tins at home after the holiday this had to become a full cake. What a shame.

20130116-105606.jpg

Ingredients:
for the cake
200g self-raising flour
1 tsp baking powder
75g golden caster suga
100g blueberries
finely grated zest of 1 unwaxed lemon
2 large eggs
150ml low-fat natural yoghurt
2 tbsp semi-skimmed milk
50ml sunflower oil
and for the icing
200g icing sugar
Juice of 1 lemon

Method:
Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees
Grease or line a cake tin
Sift flour and baking powder together in a large bowl and storing the sugar
Zest the lemon and add to the mix along with the blueberries
Whisk the eggs until smooth and add the oil, milk and natural yoghurt – stir until smoothly combined
Add mixture to the dry ingredients and stir together with a large metal spoon
Pour the mixture into the cake tin and place in the oven for 15 – 20 minutes
Enjoy a nice relaxing cup of tea whilst you wait
Once cooked, remove and allow to cool.

Mix the icing sugar and lemon juice together until you reach desired consistency
Take a spoon and liberally drizzle the icing over the cake, it doesn’t need to look fantastic, it’s a rough and ready tasty cake!

And that’s it! The calorie count of this cake is roughly half of a a standard, with butter cake BUT that isn’t an excuse to eat twice as much!
Leave me a comment if you make the cake and let me know how you get on!
Now you have your cake, go and eat it too!

Leave a Reply

