2012 – A Review and Lessons Learned

No I’m afraid to announce that this ISN’T a review of the terrible, end of the world disaster film, it’s just a look back over this past year!

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys (WordPress team, if you’re reading this I would LOVE to borrow your stat monkeys for my dissertation…) prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 2,000 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 3 years to get that many views.

Click here to see the complete report.

So what have I learnt from 2012? Lets have a look…

I can, and have on many occasions, write things that people actually want to read and enjoy reading. This isn’t just limited to blog posts either!

Painting your entire face, hands and a significant part of your chest bright red for a Halloween costume is awesome, but will mean you’ll spend a week looking like you have a serious condition with an odd red tinge to your skin. Quite frankly, I should have realised this after the first time I did it…

20121231-130010.jpg

I’m a pretty damn good baker, and I should trust my instincts when I cook rather than solely sticking to recipes. The results of this have been pretty interesting but mainly positive.

I’m capable of running 5k without wanting to pass out at the end of it.

I’m also capable of ENJOYING running. I never thought I’d admit to that.

Peter Jackson should never be doubted as he manages to deliver absolutely amazing results all the time with his films. Praise be to Jackson.

Map making and other associated tasks are a lot more fun than they may seem at first glance.

Almost any DIY problem can be fixed with duct tape, WD40, a hammer and a screwdriver.

I have an eclectic taste in shirts that is not particularly popular with others in my peer group.

The apocalypse didn’t happen and people need to chill out about centuries old prophecies.

Thank you to everyone out there that has visited, commented, shared, liked, followed and just generally helped to spread the word of my blog in the first 10 months.
I hope you all have a great New Years Eve and I’ll see you in the New Year!

Leave a Reply

